July EP




Full Lossless Quality!

Five years after ​September​, D​on Johnston​’s first release with ​Freshly Squeezed​, the Exeter-based DJ returns with ​July​, an EP of six back-to-back dance floor orientated tracks.

The opening track “If I Can’t Have You” is a midtempo collab with super tight Exeter based funk band Electric Spank. Huge bass & brass stabs seer through a soundscape of quality analog funk and big soul vocals.

Next up is “Rising” featuring the talents of Guildford based Captian Flatcap on the flute/guitar and Bristol based singer-songwriter Mazrah delivering folky ethereal vocals. Stepping drum patterns and psy inspired bass give this track a genre-breaking edge with big dance floor impact.

Track three “Don’t Think” is another collab with Electric Spank, this time with a much more driving disco funk/soul feel to it. Massive heartfelt vocals from Lucy Rice compliment the chunky analog bass.

Track four “Rhythm Stops” features Exeter based Alex Johnstone, best known for his experimental electronic live outfit Pattern Pusher. Rolling sawtooth bass, keys and brass lines give this tune a big live feel with Alex’s vocals keeping the track classy.

The fifth tune “Devious” features guitar and vocals from Chris Watts, an established international videographer, and drone pilot. Chris’s multitalented skillset is evident on this track with beautiful high register vocals leading us into a brooding deep house drop sprinkled with minimal analog synth work and tight guitar.

The EP is rounded up with track 6 “Third Time Lucky” written with Dill Master Fresh. Intricate guitar cuts are processed into a pretty yet warping progression which gives way to slamming heavily modulated analog bass